Members of the Knox County Board of Education seated at the Board table.

Board of Education

The Knox County Board of Education consists of five citizens elected to serve terms of four years each. This group serves without pay and is dedicated to safeguarding your investment in the Knox County Schools through effective policy-making.

The Board of Education values input from the community regarding school issues and extends a standing invitation to the public to attend board meetings. The board encourages public participation by recognition of guests as a standard agenda item at each board meeting.

Chairman: Jimmy Hendrickson    Vice Chairman: Dr. William Ashburn

Members: Carrie Runyon Smith, Kevin Hinkle, and Jim Miles, elected

Board Meeting Dates

Board of Education Meetings are scheduled for the fourth Monday of the month at 6:45 pm ET.  If a meeting is special called please check the agenda for the official start time.

Meeting Location

Unless otherwise specified in the meeting agenda, all meetings take place at the Knox County Board of Education Annex, 199 Daniel Boone Drive, Barbourville.  The Annex is located across the street from the main Board office and the City Hall and Fire Department.  Parking is available in the Annex lot and the Board parking lot.  If no meetings are taking place at City Hall, guests may use their lot.